Associate Professor (tenure) at the Conservation and Restoration Department, FCT NOVA.

Responsible for the Structural Materials Group at CENIMAT/i3N, FCT NOVA.

Main scientific research activity is focused on structural analysis and crystal chemistry of materials. PhD in the crystal chemistry of petreous and ceramic materials from cultural heritage of the Mediterranean region (contributions for strategies in conservation) using synchrotron radiation. Interest in the characterization of materials using X-ray diffraction, X-ray fluorescence, differential thermal analysis and thermogravimetry, synchrotron radiation X-ray Absorption Near Edge Structure (XANES) and Extended X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (EXAFS) using large scale installations such as the ESRF (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility). Experimental studies include cultural heritage materials, glass and ceramic materials, stone, minerals and metal oxides. Participant in several National and European projects. Currently coordinator of EIT (European Institute of Innovation and Technology) Raw Materials MineHeritage Project. Researcher responsible for educational programs such as AMIR (Advanced Materials Innovative Recycling) Master Program and the RawMaterials@Schools3.0,  also supported by EIT Raw Materials. Local coordinator of the Portuguese partner (UNINOVA) of the European H2020 HERACLES project dealing with Heritage resilience to climate events (completed in 2019). Co-organizer of symposia dedicated to cultural heritage materials at the EMRS conference and other national events on materials science. Project evaluator in national (ANI) and European (H2020) projects and reviewer in several journals.